Peanut Sauce

I kind of have an obsession with anything asian when it comes to food. I quickly found that I LOVE a good peanut sauce. In fact I could just about put that stuff on anything and everything…..even cardboard! What I love about this peanut sauce recipe is that it is so versatile and can be tailored to what you are actually going to be using it for.

thumb_IMG_7623_1024

So what could you use this yummy peanut sauce for? Dipping anything…veggies, spring rolls, egg rolls, pot stickers, need I go on? Adding to any asian dish such aspad thai, spicy peanut noodles, fried rice, etc. Even just simply pouring over some crispy tofu, which I do frequently.

I use a combination of sriracha and hoisin sauce for the tailoring portion of this recipe. Those two ingredients are totally to taste based on what you are wanting. I have made a good combo of sweet and spicy, a spicy peanut sauce which is what I add to my spicy peanut noodles, and a sweeter version with the hoisin sauce which is mainly what I use for dipping spring rolls and fresh rolls.

This wonderful recipe was adapted from Cookie and Kate. It instantly became my favorite peanut sauce and I made some tweaks of my own to it.

This recipe does double really well! I have done it a couple of times just to have a batch on hand in the fridge.

thumb_IMG_7624_1024

You can make it whatever consistency you want as well. If you want a really thin sauce to just drizzle you could always add water until you get the consistency you want. I prefer a little thicker sauce for dipping and a thinner sauce for adding into my asian dishes.

Now I really want some fresh rolls to dip in my yummy sauce!

Peanut Sauce

  • Servings: 1.5 - 2 cups
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Peanut dipping sauce for asian inspired meals, dipping veggies, topping on tofu, or whatever you fancy


Adapted From: cookieandkate.com

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • sriracha, to taste
  • hoisin sauce, to taste

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients together either in a bowl or by shaking vigorously in a big mason jar.
  2. Adjust for taste using the sriracha and hoisin sauce. This is where I go strictly by taste and with the thought in mind of what I am going to be using the sauce for. Sometimes you may want a sweeter or a spicier sauce depending on your tastes and the dish that you are using the sauce for.
  3. If the sauce ever gets too thick just add a little water to get to the consistency you’d like.
  4. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

