Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Lately I have been kind of obsessed with biscotti. I have always loved any flavor of biscotti and I never made it homemade until recently. I was seriously missing out. These chocolate chip biscotti cookies were one of the first biscotti cookies I ever made myself at home. I instantly loved them and began searching for more biscotti recipes to add to my arsenal.

thumb_IMG_7598_1024 copy

I just love a good crunchy cookie I can dip in my coffee or even my tea. SO GOOD! Speaking of tea, I found a Earl Grey Biscotti recipe that I am going to have to try later on. Never even heard of a “tea flavored biscotti” but just because I have to try everything that sounds remotely good to me…..that will be my next biscotti trial.

This recipe is adapted from missinthekitchen.com and I have found it to be a great one! I have added a chocolate drizzle, I’ve even slathered a layer of chocolate on one side before. Any extra chocolate I can get…..who’s with me?

thumb_IMG_7599_1024 copy

I don’t always make the full recipe. Around the holidays I will but when it is just to have around the house I will typically half this recipe because my husband and I can’t get to them all before they go stale.

These are such a great quick treat for anytime of the day. In the morning with your coffee, as a sweet breakfast, in the middle of the day for those chocolate cravings, in the evening for dessert….the list can go on forever. That’s why I love biscotti cookies so much because they can really be a part of anything, not just necessarily a dessert.

thumb_IMG_7593_1024 copy

Play around with some biscotti recipes and share your experience below! What’s your favorite kind?

Chocolate Chip Biscotti

  • Servings: 30-40 cookies
  • Time: 1hr 40min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

One of my favorite biscotti recipes filled with chocolate chips and covered in a chocolate drizzle.


Adapted From: missinthekitchen.com

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 oz chocolate chips (mini or regular) plus about 1/3 cup for drizzling

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350F.
  2. Combine butter and sugar in a mixer.
  3. Add in the eggs and vanilla and mix for about a minute.
  4. Throw in the flour, baking powder, and salt and mix until well combined.
  5. Fold in your chocolate chips.
  6. Shape the dough into two loaves on a greased baking sheet, each loaf about 10″ x 2″ in size.
  7. Bake for 25 minutes. Pull out of oven and let cool for at least 30 min.
  8. Heat oven to 300F.
  9. Slice the loaves into about 1/2″ size slices and place (sliced side down) on cookie sheet.
  10. Bake for 15 minutes then pull out of the oven and let sit for a couple of minutes before flipping and returning to oven for a final 15 minutes.
  11. Remove to a wire rack and let cool.
  12. While biscotti is cooling, melt chocolate chips (if you would like you could melt with a little coconut oil or an equivalent but it is not required) using desired method (microwave or double boiler) then place chocolate in a bag, cut off the corner and pipe out the chocolate onto the biscotti cookies. Let the chocolate harden and the cookies cool completely before storing in a air tight container.
  13. Enjoy!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Leave a Reply

