Meaty Chili

This chili is my go to dish when I am low on groceries because I typically have everything in my pantry that I need for it. It is full of flavor and a true family favorite.

I like to make this dish in the crockpot but you don’t have to do that. I like the flavor to meld together all day…not to mention my house smells amazing!

The recipe will yield about 6 (Large) servings (or maybe even a little more, it is a really filling dish).

I always have leftovers. And even those are yummy!

I have made this recipe with both ground turkey and ground beef. I personally like the ground turkey better. I almost think it is just a little sweeter with the turkey…weird right?

You can print the recipe below.

Enjoy!!!

Meaty Chili

  • Servings: about 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef or ground turkey
  • 1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (14 oz) chili con carne with beans
  • 1 can (14 oz) pinto beans, drained
  • 1 can (4 oz) diced green chilies
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp cilantro
  • 1 squirt of lime juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • sprinkle of granulated sugar

Directions:

Add everything to a crockpot except for the ground beef or ground turkey. Cook on low for 4-6 hours. About 30 min before serving brown up beef or turkey and add it to the chili in the crock pot. Let cook for remaining 30 min and serve with some yummy toppings. (shredded cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips, scallions, etc.)

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

